About Values

This is another excerpt from the #daily-discussion channel from the Love Fat Slack group.

What are values you acknowledge more?

  1. Generosity
  2. Honesty
  3. Perseverance
  4. Empathy
  5. Humility
  6. Sense of humour

What does your ED value?

  1. Security
  2. Comfort
  3. Control
  4. Isolation
  5. Loneliness
  6. Fear
  7. Anxiety
  8. Madness
  9. Dishonesty
  10. Hunger
  11. Exhaustion
  12. Perseverance
  13. Depression

For the ED one, I stopped at 13 because I could see the list of negative words increasing so I guessed it was enough to realise how destructive any ED is. As a whole, we came across a big bunch of those to add to the black list.

I can see that Perseverance can be found in both. I think I have always been determined but I am also aware that the ED has provided me with a really strong will. I guess we both value that and I want to believe that once I overcome it, I will still be.

My first doctor said that not anyone can have an ED. Only those who can. Indeed we all share very specific personality traits, close to Obsessive Compulsive Disorder. We are perfectionists, we value perseverance and rigor, we like to plan, we like CONTROL. If those strengths are not well used, when we face triggers, all chances are in us to fall into the ED trap.

What we need to learn is to harness them to harvest the fruit of life, it is to learn and to believe that we can use our natural strengths to accept and overcome the challenges of life, instead of creating a shield against it.

The weapons are within us.

Indeed only with perseverance will I be able to win the war against anorexia.

“If you are going through hell, keep going.”

– Winston Churchill

Leave a Reply

