Setting my goals for the DBT the journey

Today I was really excited.

I finally started the course with Debbie Corso, on Dialectical Behavioral Therapy (DBT). The skills revolve on emotion overcoming and management.

I have started a module called  Relationship Readiness, that is part of the development of Interpersonal Skills.

I was introduced to a fundamental DBT skills concept: The Three States of Mind. Ideally we all have a wise mind, that arises from adding the emotional mind to the logical mind.

We also covered some of the reasons why some of us are ill-prepared as adults for healthy relationships and how these issues can manifest as troubling issues for us today. We were introduced to the need of practising lots of self-compassion in order to validate our experiences it.

Indeed, interpersonal work starts with improving the relationship we have with ourselves. It is not the first time I am told about it but only now, when I see a lot of warriors that have gone through, I do start to believe in those principles and to accept that it can also be applied to myself. It’s going to take some time to shift my patterns, but I also agree that I have takenmajor first step by acknowledging that something isn’t working and starting working on it!

To conclude this introduction to DBT, I want to state what are my goals and what I hope to get after learning it. It’s important to acknowledge where I am starting from and to chart my successes and challenges along the way.

  1. Getting to know myself by being aware of my emotions
  2. Understand how my emotions are now driving my thoughts, feeling and actions and tackle them to use them in a positive healthy manner
  3. Improve my self-confidence and wellbeing
  4. Assume my new responsibility of being a wife to nurture a relationship based on love, mutual respect, generosity and gentleness
  5. Learning to accept and acknowledge mistakes, pain, failure and learn from them
  6. Being able to control myself and to treat people with kindness when something unexpected and out of control happens
  7. Having a scientific view on mindfulness and incorporate it to all aspects of my daily life
  8. Being more patient and tolerant
  9. Use the emotional regulation tools to create also a healthy relationship with food and accept the frustrations from recovery
  10. Living on the present moment

“I don’t want to be at the mercy of my emotions. I want to use them, to enjoy them, and to dominate them.”
― Oscar Wilde, The Picture of Dorian Gray

One thought on “Setting my goals for the DBT the journey

Leave a Reply

